The famed ‘1720 House’ has been welcoming guests to Vineyard Haven and Martha’s Vineyard as a private residence and B&B for generations.
Built in 1720, it is the oldest home in Vineyard Haven, and was previously known as the Timothy Chase House when it was moved to Vineyard Haven harbor from West Tisbury in the 1800s. The property, extending from Main Street to William Street, is on the National Register of Historic Places and part of the William Street Historic District.
Beautifully sited to take advantage of the morning and afternoon sun, and nicely set back from the road behind a graceful circular driveway, it is a living testimony to the island’s rich history to which the new owner can add with its own story.
A comfortably sized lot offers privacy, a garage, and a shed all within a short distance of Vineyard Haven’s shops, MV Playhouse, VH Library and ferry. Also close by are Owen Park, the town dock/harbor and public beach.
Little has changed in the home’s interior, and the character and integrity of the architecture remain intact along with its prominent, two brick chimneys. Wide, colonial-era style floorboards, gunstock posts, beamed ceilings and lattice windows create a warm atmosphere that showcases its historic pedigree.
Offering 6 Bedrooms with 4 full Bathrooms, two half baths, it’s easy to imagine the house continuing its recent role as a popular B&B or being open to updating.
A majestic copper beech tree in the side yard, which beckoned mariners in a bygone era, still stands, providing a stately welcome to the Buyer who finds safe harbor here.
Parking: Ample, Semi – circular driveway, second driveway